I Never Meant to Leave You, Susquehanna

You called my laugh rusty

Now every time I laugh you come up in my mind

I felt so stuck and alone when we met

It felt so good to be adored and talk poetry

You were much more talented than me

You still adored me and I will never understand why

We shared cups of tea and imagined the Susquehanna

Your lazy eye, and my pain searching for the sky on the ground

I always knew that you fly away to be more talented and become more beautiful

I just thought we’d still be connected

I thought we’d still have tea stains of us on each other

I flew away before you had a chance and you never talked to me again

I suppose I deserved that

I still laugh rusty and dry like a leaf on the front porch

I still think of you

I think of you and the bends of the Susquehanna 

Published by

C.J. Campbell

Speaker/Writer/Activist Author of The Zen of Beard Trimming: Stories of Punk Rock, Poverty, and the Search For Peace. Anarchist, Theology, Video game, Tabletop, and Pro Wrestling Nerd

Leave a comment