Amish Confidential

I ate among the Amish

They called me a cripple

It was jarring but true

They had sexy cologne in the bathroom

You would think it wouldn’t make sense but it did

We paid them money as tourists so they showed us their buggies

They had a trampoline outside of a door to nowhere

We  each took turns leaping 

I couldn’t tell if they liked that or not

I remember the pickle vinaigrette dressing

And brown sugar meatloaf

Chicken noodles and biscuits

All the damn pie

Most of all the corvette tucked away in the barn

Your secret is safe with me…until today 

Published by

C.J. Campbell

Speaker/Writer/Activist Author of The Zen of Beard Trimming: Stories of Punk Rock, Poverty, and the Search For Peace. Anarchist, Theology, Video game, Tabletop, and Pro Wrestling Nerd

Leave a comment